Election Day Brings a Morning Rally

Sage Goodman
Nov 3, 2020

Exiting QQQ Calls and adding to AMZN

We are having a nice rally to start the day. This morning I sold the QQQ 11/13 276 Calls at $7.06 that I purchased at $6.02 on 10/30. The purpose of the buy was to provide more upside index exposure with limited risk. Because the rally is stronger than I was expecting to see I locked in the gain on these.

I also added to Amazon (AMZN) this morning at $3006. This is my largest holding and I think it could climb to the $5,000 – $7,000 level over the next few years. I would probably trim the shares purchased this morning if they got to the 3200–3300 range in the next couple of months. I also hold WalMart (WMT) and think these companies are both well positioned for the economic position we find ourselves in.

I look at these individual stock positions as long-term holdings that I build over time and rebalance between. Typically they will make up 40% of my portfolio split between 10–12 positions. To make it easier to hold through market cycles I hedge and diversify them with ETF’s and ETF options like the QQQ options above.

--

--

Sage Goodman

Child of the Seventies, educated in Philosophy, Business and Finance, with a taste for the offbeat and unusual. Get cranky when my PDE5 Inhibitor runs out.